Most countries choose a city as their capital, but there are also countries with 2-3 options.

Only about 40 countries around the world had their capital in 1900, according to Professor David Gordon in the introduction to the book Planning Twentieth Century Capital Cities. By 2000, that number had risen to more than 200, when more countries were formed.

Malaysia: Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya

Many tourists were surprised to learn that Malaysia has two capitals. Most know Kuala Lumpur with the iconic twin tower lights, shopping malls, bustling bars on the rooftop all night. This is also the seat of the legislature, the king’s palace.

Even so, the country still wants to find a place to rest, escape the noise and bustle in Kuala Lumpur. Therefore, in 1995, the government began to build a quieter city surrounding a large artificial lake – Putrajaya.

Sri Lanka: Colombo and Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte

Colombo stretches like a maze along the Sri Lankan coast, attracting visitors by golden sand beaches, where most tourists begin the journey to explore the country.

The country’s national and executive agencies are also located in Colombo, but its official capital is the nearby Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte (commonly known as Kotte). This place has a modern Parliament building on an island in the middle of Diyawanna artificial lake.

Czech Republic: Prague and Brno

Gothic towers and baroque roofs along the Vltava contribute to Prague becoming an attractive tourist destination. The city is also known as a place to display the culture and history of the country.

One of the most impressive sites is Prague Castle, a part of a UNESCO-approved historical center. This vast castle was built in the 9th century, and is now the official working office of the president of the Czech Republic.

Even so, the country’s supreme court is in the second capital, lesser known than Brno.

Montenegro: Podgorica and Cetinje

The ancient castles and the large museum are the witnesses of Cetinje’s powerful position.
However, Cetinije lost its prominence and attention to the larger city of Podgorica. Until now, it is known by the name “royal capital city”.

Currently, Podgorica is the official capital of Montenegro.

Netherlands: Amsterdam and The Hague

With its intricate canals, Amsterdam is the name that attracts a lot of tourists all over the world.

However, although the national constitution designates Amsterdam as the capital city, the administration of the country actually takes place in The Hague. It is home to the country’s main governing bodies as the supreme court.

Benin: Porto-Novo and Cotonou

Porto-Novo is the official capital of this country. Coming here, visitors will enjoy the peaceful atmosphere with tree-lined streets and historical structures.

In addition, this West African country is still known as having two capitals. Another place is the port city of Cotonou, which is always crowded with tourists and the hustle and colorful life. Most of the headquarters of government agencies, diplomats … are located in this city. The division of power between the two cities was made in 1960, before Benin gained complete independence from French rule.

Bolivia: La Paz and Sucre

Enveloped in the snowy peaks of the Andes, the administrative capital of La Paz is a stop for many tourists. In addition, the country has another constitutional capital, hundreds of kilometers from La Paz, Sucre, the seat of the country’s supreme constitution and the capital of the Chuquisaca region.

Chile: Santiago and Valparaíso

When members of the Chilean national administration and judiciary watch snow fall on the mountains around Santiago, people in the legislature watch the sunset of the Pacific Ocean from Valparaíso.

These two beautiful cities are only 115 kilometers apart by road, but they are two separate worlds. Santiago, the official capital, owns cool gray high-rise buildings. And where the national legislature is gathered, Valparaís attracts visitors by the historic center described by UNESCO as “a gem.

Similar Posts